Motors on Bikes!


No, not a motorcycle but a motor bike. A bicycle with a motor on it is an incredibly fun ride!

The dilemma was that our 16-year-old was feeling the need for wheels and motorized wheels at that. We, however, saw the need for conservation. Conservation of both fossil fuels and our money. It is not easy to explain that, although we (the parents) grew up and got a car, it is a different world in which we live today.

I remember vividly the gas lines of the 70’s. The oil embargo and the move to smaller more efficient cars. It has always irked me to see this nation return to its gluttonous appetite for oil. But it feels almost hypocritical to tell my kids that they must behave differently. Now, I said it feels that way, I still tell them it is time to be different. And here is my rant… The wars for oil are due to all of our actions. We all have a hand in these dirty schemes for oil and money. So if we are less involved on any level that we can manage then we can say we tried to do SOMETHING.  We also looked at electric but we live where it is electric by coal-burning and so the trade-off is about the same. But the expense of the motor was huge . Electric was way out of our price range.Yes, I know I heard the same from my ‘rents on a variety of topics and I still hear their echo through my mouth. Funny how that is.

So, this is how we came to the motor bike.

This little honey gets 150 miles to the gallon! Yes, it can still be pedaled like a bike. It has no registration or licensing fees either. It is the best of two worlds. My son gets the speed and flexibility of a car and his  ‘rents get conservation of fuel and dinero.  He loves it. All the neighborhood kids are in awe. It really is quite close to a motorcycle. To top it off, the family got to work on a project. These are kit motors that Dad and kids put on the bikes and then had to tune to run properly. It is great experience for both sexes and it makes the learning almost secondary to the excitement of that first ride. In all it took about a week to complete working an hour or two a day. We also had to replace a tire on each bike to beef up the spokes to 12 gauge.

I have been on it too. It is fun and so easy. I went grocery shopping with my trailer and got a great deal hauled with very little effort.  If you have a teen that is just jonesing to be free, or you need an efficient choice of vehicle we got ours through GRU BEE. Also, we got our bikes at Goodwill and one was being tossed in the trash! One man’s trash is another man’s treasure! Then there are the memories. I can recall ALL of my brothers’ first cars. This is like that I am sure.

REMEMBER TO ALWAYS WEAR A HELMET!!

We do!

About sixathome

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ Mom to six children that have never been sent to school.
This entry was posted in education, family, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Motors on Bikes!

  1. Bill Chance says:

    I saw a vintage bike conversion at a swap meet recently – it was so cool. Glad to read the things really work.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • sixathome says:

      Not only do they work but they are super fun! A great way to get around.
      Che rode one all over Argentina in the 40’s and they have his at some meuseum down there.
      Thanks for the visit.

Arouse my imagination!

