Dinner is served


So, I think I have the perfect post to be noticed for Freshly Pressed. It has been suggested that food blogs are prominently picked up for this showcase of talent so I thought I might give it a shot.

This summer has been a hard year for my garden. The rains of spring led to slugs and snails eating my Mizuna and chards. Then the rains of summer drown three plantings of produce. But the one thing that was plentiful were caterpillars.  All kinds of the little hungry @*%#s invaded the garden and nearly wiped me out over night! So my summer pleasure was turned into warfare.

I picked and picked and drown and sprayed (organic only) but those things could hide in plain sight. Thousands could be on the undersides of leaves. Some lived on the dirt but would eat my plants at night. The tomato horn worm was the largest and yet could be right in front of me without me seeing it! But the kids were great hunters. This brings me to my perfect post.

Have you ever eaten a tomato horn worm? They can devour a strong tomato in short order and I have found them eating my bell peppers. So I imagine they taste similar to what ever it was they were munching at the time of capture.This is a small one, they get to be about four inches long. Be careful they bite or at least it feels like it when they try to escape from your fingers. Now first, all you have to do is capture enough for your meal. Three or four would make a nice appetizer. They can be found on pepper plants and eggplants as well as tomatoes.

Step two; on medium heat toss the plump bastards into the frying pan with a little olive oil. Be careful not to puncture the membrane/cuticle. Fry for about four minutes.

Step three; Garnish with basil leaves and serve.

Voila!, an appetizer for the whole family to enjoy!Shown here still raw but you get the picture.

I think this recipe is a perfect ending to a terrible year in the garden. It gives me hope that even if those buggers got me in the summer I might get something out of them!

Bon Appetite!

Note: I have NOT nor have my family eaten these. I couldn’t make the jump. If you do, or want to, look here.

.

About sixathome

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ Mom to six children that have never been sent to school.
This entry was posted in family, garden, Green, Life, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Arouse my imagination!

